About Quito

Quito, officially San Francisco de Quito, is the capital of the Republic of Ecuador, and also the oldest capital in South America.

A city surrounded by great volcanoes, comprised of colonial streets and houses, it is a place where people try to maintain its colorful traditions. Quito is located on a horizontal strip between beautiful Andean mountains, at the bottom of the Pichincha Volcano (4,784 m.a.s.l.). The city’s natural splendor, combined with its attractive squares, parks and monuments, as well as the warmth of its people, make Quito a unique and unforgettable place.

Quito has a spring-like weather all year round. Churches and convents immaculately maintained and it large buildings provide a contrast between contemporary architecture and modern Quito – a cosmopolitan city with vast cultural variety.

The UNESCO declared Quito as “World Heritage of Humanity”. Ecuador’s capital offers beautiful days and crisp nights almost throughout the year.

The Andes’ climate changes according to the altitude and time of the year. In Quito temperature ranges between 7 degrees Celsius (55oF.) at night and 26 degrees Celsius (78oF.) at noon, with an average temperature of 15 degrees Celsius (64oF.).

There are two seasons: rainy and dry. The rainy season is known as winter and the dry season is known as summer. Summer in Quito lasts approximately four (4) months, between June and September.